2021 REP/MAD-AAG Conference

Justice and the City in an Age of Social Division

October 20 update:

Dear REP-MAD Conference

We hope you are excited for the upcoming REP-MAD Conference!

The final program, as well as instructions on how to arrive at the Hotel Indigo and the Maryland Center for History and Culture (MCHC) are also available online.

The opening reception will be held from 5:30-7pm on Wednesday, Oct. 20th on the 9th floor of the Hotel Indigo, and
panel and paper sessions begin at 8:30am EST on Thursday and end at 12:10pm on Saturday. Box lunches will be provided on Thursday and Friday at the MCHC, and there will be a reception following the plenary speaker, D Watkins, on Friday evening at the MCHC. Please see the program for other optional events such as book talks and guided walking tours.

All sessions will have both in-person and virtual presentations and will have capacity for both virtual and in-person audiences to view all presentations. We ask that you arrive to your session (in person or virtually) 10-15 minutes before the start of your session to upload presentation materials on the laptop in the room, or, for virtual presenters, to ensure that materials are ready for screen share.  All viewers of any session will need to get the Zoom session code, which is available (with specific instructions on how to log in) through a link on the program page of the REP website. 

We look forward to seeing you soon, virtually or in person!

Sarah, Joe, Mark, Jeremy
REP Planning Committee

Note on Covid: We expect attendees to be vaccinated and to follow CDC guidelines and Maryland and Baltimore requirements that people be masked in public indoor spaces, which includes our venues, the hotel and the MCHC.

Conference organizers are monitoring Covid and will follow both CDC guidelines and Maryland and Baltimore City mandates. We expect in-person conference and workshop participants to be vaccinated.  If you have questions, please reach out to Joe Wood at jswood@ubalt.edu or raceethnicityplace@gmail.com.

Baltimore is a primary Southwest Airlines hub. Southwest is offering attractive fall prices for flights, does not charge for flight changes and gives a 1-year credit for canceled flights.

Activities and sessions of the 2021 REP/MAD conference will be held at the Hotel Indigo in near downtown Baltimore and at the nearby Maryland Center for History and Culture. See the Accommodation page for more information.

You want to receive the latest REP information directly in your mailbox?
Enter your email adress below

“Seeds”, painted by artist Ernest Shaw and participants of Youthworks Baltimore program.
3000-3100 block of Woodland Ave., Baltimore


Keynote Speaker

D. Watkins

D. Watkins

Professor at the University of Baltimore, Editor for Salon, AND Author

D. Watkins is Editor at Large for Salon. His work has been published in the New York Times, New York Times Magazine, The Guardian, Rolling Stone, and other publications. He holds a Master’s in Education from Johns Hopkins University and an MFA in Creative Writing from the University of Baltimore.

He is a college lecturer at the University of Baltimore and founder of the BMORE Writers Project, and has also been the recipient of numerous awards including the BMe Genius Grant, and the Ford’s Men of Courage. Watkins was also a finalist for the Hurston Wright Legacy Award and Books for A Better Life. He has lectured at countless universities, and events, around the world. Watkins has been featured as a guest and commentator on NBC’s Meet the Press, CNN’s The Erin Burnett Show, Democracy Now and NPR’s Monday Morning, among other shows.

Watkins is from and lives in Baltimore. He is the author of the New York Times bestsellers The Beast Side: Living (and Dying) While Black in America and The Cook Up: A Crack Rock Memoir and We Speak for Ourselves: A Word from Forgotten Black America.

D. Watkins will be the keynote speaker for the Friday plenary and reception. REP in-person attendees will receive a copy of D’s last book as part of registration. This event will be brought to you through the sponsorship of the T. Rowe Price Foundation in Baltimore

Join us in Baltimore

REP 2021 NSF Pre-Conference Workshop Selected Participants

Derek Alderman, University of Tennessee
Melisa Argañaraz Gomez, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Dena Aufseeser, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Mark Barnes, Morgan State University
Daniel Block, Chicago State University
Megan Bollen, Alverno College
Debra Butler, University of Massachusetts-Boston
Perry Carter, Texas Tech University
José Díaz-Garayúa, California State University, Stanislaus
Latoya Eaves, University of Tennessee
Nabeela Farhat, University of North Carolina-Greensboro
Jackie Flemmings, Retired
Ken Foote, University of Connecticut
Kionna Henderson, Michigan State University
Natasha Howard, University of New Mexico
David Kaplan, Kent State University
Naiima Khahaifa, University at Buffalo (SUNY)
Barbara Lash, University of North Carolina-Charlotte
John Lauermann, Medgar Evers College (CUNY)
Aynaz Lotfata, Chicago State University
Linda Loubert, Morgan State University
Cordelia Martin-Ikpe, Michigan State University
Jessica Martinez, University of Georgia
Terra McKee, North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University
Joshua Merced, University of North Carolina-Greensboro
Katherine Milla, Florida A&M University
David Padgett, Tennessee State University
Sumanth Reddy, Bowie State University
Tamar Rothenberg, Bronx Community College (CUNY)
Marissa Wald, Central New Mexico Community College
Joseph Wood, University of Baltimore
Willie Wright, University of Florida 
Chris Zarzar, North Carolina Central University

REP 2021 Student Conference Travel Awards Recipients

Austin Crane, Texas State University
Frida Foss, University of Colorado-Colorado Springs
Michaela Gawrys, Kent State University
Alisa Hartsell, Texas State University
Anya S. Krishnaswamy, University of Texas-Austin
Kathryn McDaniel, Texas State University
Linh Phuc Khanh Nguyen, Kent State University
Alyssa Ramirez, University of Texas-Austin
Esther Ramos, University of Texas-Austin
Camille Samuels, University of California-Irvine
Victor Santana, Binghamton University
Elise Thompson, Texas State University
Rebecca Varner, Kent State University
William Walker, Arizona State University
Fikriyah Winata, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign